Netty Said…


Melted Snow and Monkeyed Javas
03/02/2009, 3:42 pm
Filed under: Around OU, What's the Move?

Yesterday was darn swanky (still not cussing I’m so proud of myself) if I do say so myself. 

I had my very first snowball fight and I made my very first snow angel! I was all giddy and what not haha. That was my first time seeing snow… Aaaaahhhh good times man… There’s nothing like the feeling of frostbite on your fingertips… Well, I guess, lack thereof [lol]. I’m used to sand but this was a nice alternative. As Byrd says, this was ‘cute’ snow haha. No blizzards, shoveled sidewalks or snow storms. It was nice. I enjoyed it.

 

 

This is THEE first snowball I have EVER made in my life... I know... Im a snow virgin... er... was =)

This is THEE first snowball I have EVER made in my life... I know... I'm a snow virgin... er... was =)

Oglethorpes Quad.

Oglethorpe's Quad.

 

 

 

After about two hours of playing in the snow I got ready to head over to Decatur to enjoy spoken word (as opposed to written  I guess?) at the Java Monkey. There were some interesting characters there to say the least but a lot of great poets. I enjoy spoken word a lot more than Keats or Lord Byron (sorry to the English majors). They bore me, on the other hand Robert Browning has always had my attention.

The atmosphere in the Java Monkey was pretty chill. There was a nice vibe going. My friend Corina invited us and ended up reading one of her poems. Byrd came along and brought her Morehouse Man- excuse me, Man of Morehouse. It was a good time. There was this one poet called Fit. He had all of us rollin’! There was another one I think his name was Fun or something I can’t remember but he was dope too… There were a lot of poets I enjoyed- I can’t remember their names but I can recall a few lines… I won’t post them out of courtesy. Never know who’s reading digg?

Byrd and I are trying to go back this Sunday. There’s something going down at Mocha Match over by the Avondale MARTA station on Saturday at 730. I gotta scratch up five dollars though haha. The Java Monkey has spoken word every Sunday from 8-11 but it’s suggested that you get there early. It was crowded too, snow, cold and everything…

Unfortunately I had class the next day (apparently Oglethorpe was the only school that had class on a regular schedule. Friggin’ Judas’… I digress) but due to the sudden change in weather I believe I have caught a cold. I’m coughing and sneezing like you wouldn’t believe. Ugh. So I didn’t go to Biz Management or Econ today but there’s always Wednesday. I definitely went to Advanced Spanish though haha…

 

Anyway, off to do some laundry, ‘study’ and go to the gym… if my body permits lol.

Peace! Lupe style.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

HEY! I just found this. Interesting blogs lol. BTW
http://www.gilt.com/invite/kristoferboo
Check this site out, if you love shoes, you’ll love what they come out with.
🙂

Comment by Kris




Leave a Reply

